CMAQ simulation at 36km and 12km

Hello all,

I am pretty new to CMAQ. I am doing a CMAQ simulation at 36km grid resolution. I have all input data (emission, ICBC, and MCIP) for this simulation.

However, I have to do another simulation at 12km grid resolution. I am wondering if you could help me how I could run the model for new grid resolution? Also, whether I should use new input data for 12km or can I use the same input data that I used for 36km?
In general, what is the difference between these two simulation? Which items should I change?

Thank you

To run CMAQ for a 12km grid resolution, you would need to have the WRF meteorology defined for the 12km grid, and also the emissions processed using SMOKE for that grid as well.
I would encourage you to take the CMAQ Online Training that is offered by the CMAS Center to learn more.
https://www.cmascenter.org/training/classes/online-cmaq-class.cfm

Hello,

Thank you for your help.

Just two more questions:
1- I have a working MCIP executable which is compatible with my CMAQ. I also have the GRIDDESC which contains the domain information for MCIP run. However, I need more information regarding how I should run MCIP. Can you please help me in this regard?

2- I have IC/BC for 36 km runs. I need to generate 12 km chemical IC/BC from 36 km runs. Can you please give me some ideas regarding how I can generate them?

Thank you in advance.

Hello,

Thank you for your help.

Just two more questions:
1- I have a working MCIP executable which is compatible with my CMAQ. I also have the GRIDDESC which contains the domain information for MCIP run. However, I need more information regarding how I should run MCIP. Can you please help me in this regard?

2- I have IC/BC for 36 km runs. I need to generate 12 km chemical IC/BC from 36 km runs. Can you please give me some ideas regarding how I can generate them?

Thank you in advance.