CMAQ output sanity check

I just ran CMAQv5.3.2 for Jan 1 - March 1, 2014 using 2016 NEI emissions, and then used COMBINE and CALC_TMETRIC postprocessing tools to get monthly average of PM25_TOT and other PM25 components. I am getting very low average (of hourly) February PM2.5 for the Western US:

When I checked the inline emissions, windblown dust does not seem to show any emission during any hour of the day (28th Feb) in the CCTM_DUSTEMIS_* output file:

Also, COMBINE (or rather species definition file of cb6r3 mechanism) has this PM25_UNSPEC1 which is pretty high average hourly concentration:

Since I am very new to postprocessing CMAQ output, I am trying to figure if there maps make sense, so I have a few CMAQ quality check questions to see where things could have gone wrong:

1. What are some diagnostic tests that I can do in CMAQ itself to make sure things went right, especially with the windblown emissions? How can I make use of CCTM_PMDIAG_* files here?
  2. How should I understand PM_UNSPEC1 from COMBINE tool as an entity?
  3. I should probably use ground observations to compare these simulations - is there a one-stop-shop to get the ground observations like IMPROVE, AQS and CASTNET for the present decade to compare with? May I also ask if AMET is the right tool for me to compare CMAQ monthly average of hourly PM2.5 (components and total) with observations?

Thanks!

1 Like

Thanks for your post.

I checked one of our recent runs for February 2016, and while the general patterns of monthly average PM2.5 concentrations are quite similar to what you’re showing, the area with monthly average PM2.5 concentrations <2 ug/m3 in the Western U.S. isn’t quite as widespread in our runs as in yours. We do see 2-4 ug/m3 for much of Arizona and New Mexico and values > 8ug/m3 for the San Joaquin Valley and Southern California. In our simulations, wind-blown dust was not turned on, so that should bias our results on the low side.