Questions on CMAQ CTM_MAXSYNC and CTM_ADV_CFL settings

We did two CMAQ one-day simulations, with identical input files except CTM_MAXSYNC and CTM_ADV_CFL settings.

Run1: set CTM_MAXSYNC to 720 and CTM_ADV_CFL to 0.75
Run2: set CTM_MAXSYNC to 300 and CTM_ADV_CFL to 0.95

We were surprised by the predicted ozone differences. There are up to 3 ppb for hourly ozone and up to 1 ppb for daily max ozone. Attached gif plots are Run1 minus Run2

Our questions are, can we say a run with shorter maxsync value is more accurate than a run with longer maxsync value. Or a run with smaller max adv_cfl value is more accurate?

Thanks!

-Winston

o3dif.sync720-sync300

maxo3dif.sync720-sync300

1 Like

Actually, as a mathematician I am much happier about runs with Courant number less than 1/SQRT(2) ~ 0.7 — after all, horizontal advection is a two-dimensional process relating to winds with magnitude SQRT(U^2+V^2)

And then there’s the coupling with other physical processes (also affected by the coupling time-step)…

Thank you for your question. I am posting a response on behalf of Rohit Mathur: